Elegant Places

Tuesday, 10 July 2012

The Historic Buildings on Compagnes Drift Farm, Bot River

Compagnes Drift  was  established by the Dutch East India Company as an outpost and stop over for early travellers before crossing the  Bot River. It then became a loan-place originally called Botterivier over the Hottentoshollandkloof and was granted to Daniel Malan for grazing on 12 February 1731 and eventually granted as a perpetual quitrent farm to Servaas Daniel de Kock on 28 June 1818.
The buildings of Compagnes Drift have suffered little from modernisation and some may well date from the time of Servaas de Kock and before.
The manor house has an H-shape plan with classic end gables and the rear wing has yellowwood ceilings two rooms of which now have Victorian pressed metal ceilings representing a different historic era. There are wooden steps outside to the 2 lofts, teak sash windows and doors some still with the original hand blown glass panes.
The wine cellar is of particular interest because it stands as a complete early wine cellar , the first in the Overberg, with open fermentation tanks and some of the old equipment still on display although today it operates as a fully functional modern winery. The Barrel Cellar also doubles up as an atmospheric space for ‘long table’ lunches, functions and small events.
The Mill House dates back to the late 1700’s and comprises the working Watermill with the Miller’s house attached. This now serves as self-catering accommodation for guests as does  Peppertree Cottage which was one of the earliest buildings on the farm. This has hand hewn yellowwood beams in the living room and was perhaps originally a wagon shed and then converted into the first farm school house in Bot River.
The Constable House at the entrance to the farm was a later addition in the late 1800’s and housed the local policeman and his family. In the outside barn there are two lock up cells and the old stable still with the manger intact. This space now functions as a catering kitchen and the house is still a dwelling with wooden floors and ceilings and old sash windows.
Experience Rural Charm in the Mill House or Pepper Tree Cottage at Beaumont Wines .
Where family, tradition and craft meet. 

Both cottages have open fireplaces in the kitchen, lovely wood-burning stoves in the living room, electric heaters and hot water bottles for the winter months. All bedding, bath towels and plenty of fire wood are supplied.
Enjoy invigorating walks through the vineyards, wine tasting, hiking the mountain trails, horse-riding or just lazing in the hot waters of the Caledon Spa. Or perhaps a swim in the fresh mountain water lake on a hot summer’s day – the jetty offers one of the prettiest settings for sun-downers. You can even put the idea of cooking on the back-burner and instead arrange to have delicious home-cooked meals delivered to your cottage. 
Low Season: March till end November
R350/person/night for the first 2 people and then R180/person/night thereafter (2 nights or more)
R380/person/night for the first 2 people and then R210/person/night thereafter (1 night stay) 
High Season: December till end February
Peppertree Cottage: R800/night/cottage – (sleeps max 4 people)
Mill House: R1000/night/house – (sleeps max 6 people)